School Logo

Highgate Community

Primary School

Interactive bar

Get in touch

Contact Details


Curriculum Provision Map

Curriculum Provision Map 1

Our curriculum is divided into three key stages, Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2.



Reception children at Highgate are taught in a purpose built 'Foundation Stage' classroom. The EYFS curriculum is divided into 7 areas of learning and development. These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The EYFS team teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests


Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

• Communication and language;

• Physical development; and

• Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and

future learning.


As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are:

• Literacy;

• Mathematics;

• Understanding the world; and

• Expressive arts and design.


Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through

creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.


Key Stage 1

Refers to children in Years 1 & 2. As the children settle into the school, they move to more formal education. The teaching of reading and writing is done with an emphasis on phonic learning as well as developing a love of books and improving understanding of texts. Mathematical learning builds upon practical learning already embraced in EYFS.


What is phonics?

Phonics is recommended as the first strategy that children should be taught when learning to read and write. It runs alongside other methods that develops an understanding of the text and a love of reading. Words are made up from small units of sounds called phonemes. Phonics teaches children to be able to listen carefully to identify each sound within each word which helps them to read and spell. They are taught GPCs (grapheme phoneme correspondences) which simply means all the sounds of the English Language. The first sounds taught are s, a, t,p. Children are taught to be able to blend, which is when we say the sounds that make up a word and then merge them together. This is a vital skill for reading. We also teach the children to segment. This is the opposite of blending and is when we get the children to break down the individual phonemes that make it up. This is a vital skill for spelling.


Key Stage 2

Refers to children in Years 3, 4, 5 and 6. As the children settle into the school, they move to more formal education. As the children become older we aim to develop their independence and enthusiasm for learning. 


Developing a love of learning is the basis for our Engage & Enjoy Curriculum.


Reading & Phonics Schemes

At Highgate, we use Jolly Phonics and Bug Club schemes to support the teaching of reading. Our books are all banded into colours to help the children select books more independently.